34639452About The Book

“Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

My Review

This was buddy read with Liz @ Cover 2 Cover, chatting through DMs on Twitter. The book only had 15 chapters so we decided to check in with each other every 5 chapters to compare notes. This worked really well as the pages flew by and the plot threw up some great twists and turns.

Well this hooked me right from page one and didn’t really let up, as I was desperate to find out what the heck was going on. I liked Jason, the main character and his family ,really sympathising with him all the way.

I must admit that I found some chapters in the middle rather repetitive, dragging on a bit, and most of the physics just went over my head.

There were some fab twists in this book, some I guessed, some I didn’t, but it didn’t spoil my overall enjoyment. The ending was very well done and couldn’t have worked any other way.

I think this would make a great film or mini series, as it’s quite a visual book, although I’m not sure how they’d be able to transfer some aspects to the screen.

I definitely recommend this if you want a clever page turner to read in a short space of time.