image_2021-09-15_173609From Goodreads: “This brand-new unabridged audio book of J.R.R. Tolkien’s beloved The Hobbit will be coming to listeners everywhere this September, read by the BAFTA award-winning actor, director and author, Andy Serkis.
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole in Bag End. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of thirteen dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day, to whisk him away on a journey ‘there and back again’. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon…
The prelude to The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit has sold many millions of copies since its publication in 1937, establishing itself as one of the most influential books of the twentieth century

My Review

Well what can I say, except I’ve finally listened to The Hobbit. I actually tried this book when I was a child, but didn’t get past the first few pages, as I really wasn’t interested in the description of the little houses in the hills! So why did I try again? Well, because of Andy Serkis of course! How could I resist the voice of Golem? I’m really glad I listened to it, because he was amazing!

I must admit I was a bit disappointed in the story, as I found it lacking in depth. I know it’s an old book, and I know it was written for Tolkien’s children, but there wasn’t a lot to it, so I’m a bit disappointed in all the hype surrounding it! It was really obvious to me that I was listening to a children’s book, as it was a very simple story, with very obvious plot lines. Maybe I’ve read too many books, but I sort of knew what was going to happen in certain places. and no it’s not because I’ve seen the films, because I haven’t! 😀

I didn’t really like Bilbo until the end, when his character had developed and he’d ‘grown up’. He was too whingey for me, always wanting to give up and go home. I’m surprised that the dwarves put up with him for so long. I liked Gandalf but he wasn’t around for long enough, and I really liked Smaug the Magnificent, he was a brilliant character, I loved the way Andy Serkis voiced him.

The narration was absolutely perfect. Andy Serkis’ range of voices was amazing. In fact he was so good that I’m probably going to listen to the Lord of The Rings. I can’t believe I’ve mentioned that as I’m definitely not a fantasy lover! 

I’d definitely recommend this on audio as Andy Serkis was phenomenal!