61hMGh6vijL._SL500_About the book: Matilda Wormwood is an extraordinary genius with really stupid parents.

Miss Trunchbull is her terrifying headmistress who thinks all her pupils are rotten little stinkers.

But Matilda will show these horrible grown-ups that even though she’s only small, she’s got some very powerful tricks up her sleeve.”

My Review

This was a fantastic audio book and one that I thoroughly enjoyed even though it was a completely different story to what I was expecting. I thought the story was just about Matilda being a voracious bookworm and going to a school with a hideous teacher.

I haven’t read this before, probably because when it was published in 1988 I was first working and not reading much at all. I did actually have a hold on the ebook from the library recently, but I gave up waiting after about a month! You know what? I’m so glad I did, because then I wouldn’t have listened to this wonderful audio version.

Kate Winslet was an amazing narrator bringing all the characters to life with a wonderful array of different voices. I loved her voice for Matilda’s parents, Hortensia, one of the pupils at Matilda’s school and of course Miss Honey. In fact at times I kept thinking I was hearing Sarah Lancaster, a completely different actress, when she was doing the voice of Miss Honey.

As always with Roald Dahl’s books, the majority of the adults are vile and the children are quite normal, and of course there are some dark themes. In fact it wasn’t the story I was expecting, it turned into something completely different in a good way! 😀

I definitely recommend this story on audiobook for everyone young and old.

Thanks so much to Chloë Rose at Penguin Books UK for the opportunity to listen to it!