Shelf by Shelfie is a book tag created by Bibliobeth. If you want to join in, you share a picture (or “shelfie”) of one of your shelves i.e. favourites, TBR, however you like to organise them, and then answer the ten questions below about your shelf. Don’t forget to credit Bibliobeth and link to her fab blog so she can take a look at your post.

20181109_094131

As I’m participating in Nonfiction November I thought I’d share my cookery books with you all for my latest shelfie post.


1. Is there any reason for this shelf being organised the way it is or is it purely random?

Yup it’s random.

2. Tell us a story about one of the books on this shelf that is special to you i.e. how you got it/ a memory associated with it etc.

The Good Housekeeping book was a wedding present from my in-laws. Even though it’s over 26 years old and the front cover is looking quite tatty, it’s still very useful.

3. Which book from this shelf would you ditch if you were forced to and why?

The Marie Claire book. It was an impulse buy years ago in WHSmith. It never gets used as it was for the Australian market, so a lot of the ingredients aren’t available. It’s got lovely photos in it though! 😉

4. Which book from this shelf would you save in an emergency and why?

Definitely the Good Housekeeping book as it’s got everything in there a cook needs to know, plus it has sentimental value.

5. Which book has been on this shelf for the longest time?

That’s got to be the Good Housekeeping book as well.

6. Which book is the newest addition to this shelf?

The Hairy Bikers Chicken & Egg that I bought in our local hospice charity shop for £3, a real bargain as it was brand new and we use it all the time.

7. Which book from this shelf are you most excited to read (or re-read if this is a favourites shelf?)

I’m looking forward to my husband doing some more baking from one these books. He’s much better baker than I am and he mentioned something about making cakes this weekend. 😀

8. If there is an object on this shelf apart from books, tell us the story behind it?

No other object, but there are two books on there (Persia and I Love Soup) that bought after reviewing them through NetGalley. So it goes to prove that book bloggers do buy books they get as proofs.

9. What does this shelf tell us about you as a reader?

That I enjoy cooking and like buying new cook books!

10. Choose other bloggers to tag or choose a free question you make up yourself.

A free question that maybe someone in the blogosphere can answer for me. Do any of you know of any good Malaysian cookbooks?