reading-bingo-small

Last year I failed miserably at festive bingo, finding it extremely difficult to line up my reading with the books on the card. Well you an imagine my delight when I saw this blog post on Cleopatra Loves Books at the beginning of the week. As Cleo explains “I purposely don’t treat this like a challenge by finding books to fit the squares throughout the year, oh no! I prefer to see which of my (mostly) favourite books will fit from the set I’ve read.”

More than 500 pages

Unfortunately I didn’t manage to read a book this size. My longest read was only 487 pages.

 

A Forgotten Classic – The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett

14612615

Although this was only published in 2012 I would consider this to be a modern classic.

32613366A Book That Became a Movie – The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas

This is actually being made into a movie as we speak.

 

31322309

A Book Published This Year – One Italian Summer by Keris Stanton

A fun YA novel that I won through Reader’s First.

32599703A Book with A Number In The Title – The Fifth Letter by Nicola Moriarty

A fun chicklit book.

 

32946293A Book Written by Someone Under Thirty – They Can’t Kill Us All by Wesley Lowry

A compelling account of how the Black Lives Matter movement was formed by Washington Post report Wesley Lowry.

 

35224165

A Book With Non Human Characters – Lost Boy by Christina Henry

This dark re-telling of Peter pan had some pretty scary parts including the ‘one-eyed’ monsters  in it.

27180577A Funny Book – The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell 

This had me laughing out loud on numerous occasions, and must be one of the funniest books I’ve read this year.

 

32599702A Book By A Female Author – Everything but the Truth by Gillian McAllister

I’ve actually read a lot of great books by women this year and this is one of the best.

30046874A Book With A Mystery – Watch Her Disappear by Eva Dolan

The fourth book in Eva Dolan’s police procedural series had a good mystery for the detectives to work out.

29752912

A Book With A One Word Title – Nutshell by Ian McEwan

This was a brilliant quirky read that I highly recommend.

 

30326280A Book of Short Stories – Paris for One and Other Short Stories by Jojo Moyes

A heart-warming collection from the author of Me Before You.

 

screenshot-www.wfhowes.co.uk 2017-07-24 20-32-01Free Square – Step Back in Time by Ali McNamara

A book that made me smile every time I picked it up.

 

32969331A Book Set On A Different Continent – The Existence of Pity by Jeannie Zokan

A fabulous coming of age story set in Colombia in South America

 

32321197A Book of Non-Fiction – Birds Life Art Death by Kyo Maclear

A memoir that made me really think about so many things in my life.

34806691The First Book By A Favourite Author – Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

The latest book by one of my favourite authors and her darkest yet!

26859967A Book I Heard About Online – Corpus by Rory Clements

The first book in a fantastic new series by the author set in England just before WW2.

 

25613396A Best Selling Book – When Breath Becomes Air 

This was such a difficult read for me as it brought back very sad memoirs of my father’s brief but terminal battle with lung cancer.

34612398A Book Based Upon A True Story – The Women in the Castle 

A very powerful story, told very well by the author who took seven years of researching and delving into her own family history to write it.

 

25555839A Book At the Bottom Of Your To Be Read Pile – A Man Called Ove

I’d heard a lot about this book and finally read it this summer.

 

32505356A Book Your Friend Loves – Stranger by David Bergen

I lent this to my friend when I’d finished it as she enjoyed it just as much as I did.

 

25365530A Book That Scares You – Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

I read this at the beginning of the year and I can still remember how chilling it was.

 

A Book That Is More Than 10 Years Old

Unfortunately I didn’t manage any books published later than 2008 so just missed it.

1755471_image_148x230

The Second Book In A Series –The Golden chain by Margaret James

This is  the second book in the fabulous Charton Minster series that I discovered this year.

 

 

screenshot-www.wfhowes.co.uk 2017-05-30 13-12-25A Book With A Blue Cover – The Wedding Diary by Margaret James

This is actually the third book in the Charton Minister series (see above) and an audiobook that I’ve listened to twice this year.

 

So there you have it all but 2 squares completed, a book over 500 pages and a book published more than 10 years ago. I shall have to make sure I do better next year!