It’s time for #6degrees. It’s unquestionably the least demanding bookish meme on the interwebs, so join in!

Six Degrees of Separation is a monthly meme hosted by Books Are My Favourite and Best. The idea is to start with the book that Kate gives us and then create a chain of six books, each suggested by the one before…

 

84979

This month’s starting book is Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice,  a book I have tried to read on several occasions and always failed. I have enjoyed the TV and film adaptations over the years, especially Lost in Austen which I managed to catch again recently on the ITV Hub.

 

 

 

 

 

72193

 

Another book I’ve failed to enjoy is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I haven’t bothered with the rest of the series so maybe I should try the film versions instead?

 

 

 

 

481509

Thinking of books made into films makes me think of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis, a book and series that I’ve adored since childhood, but didn’t enjoy the film version.

 

 

 

 

 

54283

This brings me to When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr  another childhood favourite. I don’t think this has been made into a film although I think it could quite possibly work quite well as a TV series or film.

 

 

 

 

 

818162

 

This brings me to SilverFin by Charlie Higson, the first book in the Young Bond series. I think they’d be brilliant on the screen but the author has said that it wouldn’t work as whoever played the young Bond would grow up too quickly for the films to work.

 

 

 

15350

 

This makes me think of The Lord of the Rings which I although I haven’t read or watched the films, have according to my husband and son, been adapted brilliantly for the big screen.

 

 

 

 

19501

 

This finally brings me to Eat, Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert a book and film adaptation that I did enjoy, although I know it wasn’t for everyone.

 

 

 

 

From one Elizabeth to another Elizabeth both writing about love and marriage, via Harry Potter, Narnia, WW2 refugees, Young Bond and  Middle Earth.  Well I’m as surprised as you with the way this went. Hope you enjoyed the trip!