Book 6 of #20BooksofSummer BookReview – Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo #FlamingoBoy

From Goodreads: " A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION. This is a landmark new novel form the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young... Continue Reading →

#BookReview – The Occupation by Deborah Swift #TheOccupation #2020HistFicReadingChallenge

From Goodreads : " One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself… 1940, Jersey When Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German, must decide where her loyalty lies. Love for her island, and fear for her Jewish friend Rachel, soon propel... Continue Reading →

#AudiobookReview – The Murder of Patience Brooke by J.C. Briggs #ACharlesDickensInvestigation #2020HistFicReadingChallenge

From Goodreads: "A brutal murder in Victorian London forces a famous writer to solve the mystery… London, 1849 Charles Dickens has set up Urania Cottage as a sanctuary for fallen women. But he is shocked when the matron’s assistant – Patience Brooke – is found hanging outside the property, covered in blood. Desperate to protect... Continue Reading →

#AudioBookReview – The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes #TheGiverofStars #LoveAudio #AudiobookChallenge #LibraryLoveChallenge #2019histfict

From Goodreads: "Set in Depression-era America, a breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their remarkable journey through the mountains of Kentucky and beyond, from the author of Me Before You and The Peacock Emporium. Alice Wright marries handsome American Bennett Van Cleve hoping to escape her stifling life in England. But small-town Kentucky quickly... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑