Book 6 of #20BooksofSummer BookReview – Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo #FlamingoBoy

{BD9021A7-D7D2-4549-AE8E-A1E77942E44C}Img100From Goodreads: ” A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION.

This is a landmark new novel form the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…

My Review

I borrowed ebook this via the Libby app from the library, and it was the perfect book forΒ  reading in short bursts, although when it got tense I really didn’t want to put it down.

The story is told from the beginning by a English student called Vincent who goes off to the Camargue in the South of France straight after finishing his O’Levels.Β  He collapses whilst out walking and is rescued by a local man who takes him back to his farm when he’s nursed by to health by his companion. It’s whilst Vincent is recovering (from malaria) that the main story about the autistic boy and the flamingos is told.

I really liked this clever way of the telling the story through memories, it felt like proper storytelling, if that makes sense, a story within a story.

I loved getting to know Lorenzo, Kezia, their parents and the carousel. I felt like I was there in the south of France amongst the salt flats of the Camargue. It was a lovely story of friendship and family, but also a story of hardship, cruelty and danger.

It’s my second book by Michael Morpurgo, the first being Warhorse, and I’m definitely going to read more of them.

I highly recommend this if you enjoy stories set in World War 2.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Β 

23 thoughts on “Book 6 of #20BooksofSummer BookReview – Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo #FlamingoBoy

Add yours

  1. Great review, Nicki. My nephew (he’s such a prolific reader, I couldn’t be more proud) is starting to get into Morpurgo – I’ll have to check if he has this one! x

  2. Fab review, Nicki! I don’t read many “war books” but I love the Camargue and its flamingoes, so perhaps I should make an exception for this one 😊

  3. Wonderful review Nicki, I know you have already read another, because I read your review already. I will have to see if my library has this one. He does an amazing job with War stories.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

My Wandering Books

More Books Please.

Hooked From Page One

Find your next crime fiction read here . . .

Mac Reviews Books

Book reviews for the masses!

Bookworms Anonymous

We might as well face it ... we’re addicted to books

Tessa Talks Books

a book blog covering books you can escape with πŸ“š thrillers, fantasies, romantic comedies, and much more πŸ“š always non-spoiler reviews

Carolyn Hughes

Historical novelist

ThatBookGal Blogs

Books, pops and random ramblings

Bookworm Blogger

Reading is a passport to countless adventures

the book blog life

reading, ranting and reviewing

The Blog

Surviving motherhood one book at a time!

Years of Reading Selfishly

Life is too short to read books you don't love

%d bloggers like this: