51953krdOBL._SY346_From Goodreads : A gorgeous timeslip romance for fans of Kate Mosse, Diana Gabaldon and Barbara Erskine.
Maddie is restless in London. She has friends, a job and a sort-of boyfriend, but something in her life is missing. Then she visits the ancient village of Walditch, deep in the Dorset countryside. Something stirs in her, and on a whim she buys a centuries-old cottage and moves there three months later. Her friends think she’s crazy, but for Maddie it feels like coming home.

Late at night in the cottage, Maddie hears strange noises and sees mist gathering indoors and out. When she starts investigating the cottage’s history, she becomes drawn into the tragic story of a family who lived here 400 years ago. Meanwhile, Maddie starts to fall in love with a local carpenter – but he has a relationship already…
Can Maddie solve the riddle of the past? What is her connection with the family that lived there so many years ago? And can she and her true love ever be together?
Previously published as The Forgotten Promise.

************

My Review

This was such a gorgeous read! I loved everything about it and wished I hadn’t finished it! I love time travel/timeslip novels and this one was so good, and how I pretty much think it would happen in real life.

I really liked Maddie and loved how she upsticks from London because the cottage in the tiny Dorset village was calling to her. Everything fell into place really easily and she felt at home straight away. As she’s settling in she starts seeing mist inside her house and strange figures dressed in very old clothing. Sometimes she even has very vivid dreams which really confuse her. She never feels scared though, just knows that somehow she’s connected to it all.

Maddie then gets a job as a barmaid at the local pub and so gets to know more people in the area. She’s not particularly good at serving food though and gets teased by a rather lovely man who turns out to be a local carpenter. Why does she feels an instant connection to him and could he also feel the same way but isn’t saying anything to her?

I can’t tell you any more as I’ll ruin this gorgeous story for you, and I really don’t want to do that.

I definitely recommend this if you enjoy romance and timeslip stories.

 

 

Β 

Β