#BookReview – The Rearranged Life of Oona Lockhart by Margarita Montimore @damiella @Tr4cyF3nt0n #blogtour #CompulsiveReaders

img_7941Hello and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Rearranged Life of Oona Lockhart by Margarita Montimore. Thanks so much to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for the invite and to the publishers for my ARC via NetGalley. Before I share my review here’s what the book is all about:

For fans of THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND and HOW TO STOP TIME, meet Oona: every year, at the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve, she wakes up in a different year of her life, never knowing how old she’ll be on the outside…

What would you do if you woke up thirty years older than you were yesterday?

Brooklyn, 1982. Oona Lockhart and her boyfriend are about to ring in the New Year and Oona’s 19th birthday. But seconds after the New Year begins, Oona is torn from her life and everyone she loves, finding herself in her fifty-one-year-old body thirty-three years into the future. The life she had is gone, and all she is a letter from herself from the previous year to guide her. Each year on the stroke of midnight she finds herself resurfacing in a different year of her own adulthood. Still a young woman on the inside, but ever changing on the outside, who will she be next year? Wealthy philanthropist? Club kid? World traveller? Wife to a man she’s never met?

The Rearranged Life of Oona Lockhart is an uplifting joyride through an ever-changing world that shows us what it means to accept your fate and truly live in the moment.

Available from: WaterstonesAmazonAudible UKGoogle Books

************

My Review

This was such a fun book! I knew I had to take part in this blog tour as I love time travel books, plus just like Oona, I’m a New Year baby! 🙂

I really liked Oona and felt just as disorientated as she did every time she leapt from year to year. I would love to time travel, but if I was going to do it, it would have to be much easier than they way Oona experienced it.

Oona leaps to 7 different years and I think my favourite year was 1995. It was much calmer than some of the other leaps and I’d love to spend a year the way she did. 😀

I loved her relationship with her mother Madeleine, although I’m not sure I’d want to have her as my mother.

I loved the letters she wrote to herself each year to help guide her through the forthcoming problems and excitements, and thought it was a great way to prepare for what was coming.

There are so many other things and people I want to mention, but can’t because it would spoil this clever, fun book. Oh yes and there’s a brilliant twist that was a fantastic surprise too.

A definite must read if you enjoy contemporary time travel stories!

************

About The Author

17205673After receiving a BFA in Creative Writing from Emerson College, Margarita Montimore worked for over a decade in publishing and social media before deciding to focus on the writing dream full-time. She lives in New Jersey with her husband and dog.

Margarita writes upmarket fiction that tends to be left of center and flirt with multiple genres. She loves all things dark, strange, and surreal, but is also optimistic—verging on quixotic—and a pop culture geek, so her work tends to incorporate all those elements to varying degrees.

You can follow Margarita on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and through her website

23 thoughts on “#BookReview – The Rearranged Life of Oona Lockhart by Margarita Montimore @damiella @Tr4cyF3nt0n #blogtour #CompulsiveReaders

Add yours

  1. I love the premise for this book! It sounds fun and perhaps a bit confusing. Probably, I have to read this, since I like time travel. Great review, Nicki!

  2. Great review, Nicki. I weren’t sure if this one would be for me, which was why I didn’t join the blog tour – but your review has me really wanting to read it now. One for the library list 👍 x

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Hooked From Page One

Find your next crime fiction read here . . .

Mac Reviews Books

Book reviews for the masses!

Bookworms Anonymous

I am addicted to reading (and buying) books and that is about all you need to know.

Tessa Talks Books

a book blog with non-spoiler reviews 📚 Mystery/Thriller, SciFy/Fantasy, and more

Carolyn Hughes

Historical novelist

ThatBookGal Blogs

Books, pops and random ramblings

Exploring London

A blog about London and its history...

Bookworm Blogger

Reading is a passport to countless adventures

the book blog life

reading, ranting and reviewing

The Blog

Surviving motherhood one book at a time!

Years of Reading Selfishly

Life is too short to read books you don't love

%d bloggers like this: