42779072Hello and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Unlikely Escape of H.G. Parry. Thanks so much to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for the invite and to the publishers for my gorgeous paperback proof. Before I share my review here’s what the book is all about:

The ultimate book-lover’s fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can’t quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob — a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life — hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life’s duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world… and for once, it isn’t Charley’s doing. There’s someone else who shares his powers. It’s up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.”

Available from: HiveWaterstonesAmazonAudible UKGoogle Books

************

My Review

This book! This book was wonderful and has become my new all time favourite! Why? It really is a book lovers dream! Full of literary characters who come to life because readers have connected with them in such a personal way. It’s full of brilliant quotes from the different characters real and literary, and the descriptions of the literary characters in their scenarios are just wonderful.

This book captured my imagination and constantly held it there for the two weeks I was reading it. Now you may ask me “Nicki if it’s your favourite book why didn’t you read it in one sitting or possibly two? Why did it take you a fortnight?”

Well the simple reason is because I was enjoying it so much I didn’t want to rush it and leave the fantastic world that the author had built. I didn’t want to leave Rob and Charley Sutherland behind, I wanted to stay with them in Wellington, in New Zealand. I also didn’t want to leave the 5 Darcys, Sherlock Holmes, Charles Dickens, the White Witch,  Heathcliff, Dorian Gray, Matilda Wormwood, and dare I say it Uriah Heep! Do you get the picture? If you do, you definitely need to read this book as you’ll get it and you’ll want to stay there too.

As well as all of these literary characters coming to life, there’s a brilliant plot revolving around family secrets, sibling relationships and disappointments. Charley was my favourite character with Sherlock Holmes coming a very close second.

Highly recommended in all formats, as I’ve bought it in both Kindle and audiobook, something I’ve never done before when on a blog tour! The audiobook was narrated brilliantly by Callum Gittens, a ‘new to me’ narrator who hooked me straight away with his New Zealand accent, and made my flesh creep whenever he voiced Uriah Heep!

************

About The Author

18633573


H.G. Parry lives in a book-infested flat in Wellington, New Zealand, which she shares with her sister and two overactive rabbits. She holds a PhD in English Literature from Victoria University of Wellington, and teaches English, Film, and Media Studies. Her short fiction has appeared in Intergalactic Medicine Show, Daily Science Fiction, and small press anthologies. The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep is her debut novel.
You can follow her on Twitter and on her website