#BookSpotlight – Stop Self-Sabotage: Six Steps to Unlock Your True Motivation, Harness Your Willpower, and Get Out of Your Own Way by Dr. Judy Ho

Hello today I’m highlighting a nonfiction book that was sent all the way from L.A. by the author Dr. Judy Ho. Before I share my thoughts, here’s what the book is all about:

About The Book

42980941Award-winning psychologist and TV personality Dr. Judy Ho helps you stop the cycle of self-sabotage, clear a path to lasting happiness, and start living your best life in this a must-have guide perfect for fans of You Are a Badass, Unf*ck Yourself, and How to Stop Feeling Like Sh*t.

Have you ever had a deadline for a big work project, only to find yourself down to the wire because you spent too much time on social media? Or gotten excited about meeting someone new, only to convince yourself he isn’t really interested? How many Januarys have you resolved that this is the year you’re finally going to lose the weight, only to abandon your diet in mere weeks? If these scenarios sound familiar, you are stuck in a cycle of self-sabotage.

At one point or another, we’ve all done something that undermines our best interests and intentions. Even the most successful people get in their own way-often without realizing it. In Stop Self-Sabotage, licensed clinical psychologist, tenured professor, and television personality Dr. Judy Ho takes a fresh look at self-sabotage to help us answer two vital questions: Why do we do it? How do we stop?

Combining proven psychological strategies with practical tools and self-assessments, Dr. Judy teaches you how to identify your triggers, transform your thoughts and behaviors, and most important of all, start living the life you want. From the first page, this practical and effective guide gives you strategies and tools to make lasting, positive change.”

Available from: Amazon UKAmazon US

************

My Thoughts

Unfortunately I’ve only had a chance to flick through this book, but from what I’ve read I’ve recognised myself in a few of the examples. Like most people, I have lots of good intentions starting projects, but most of the time I given up long before I’ve finished. I’ve never properly understood why I behaved like this, and always thought it was because I was no longer interested, but I suspect it’s more like self sabotage. I’m looking forward to getting stuck in to this book and discovering how I can stop this cycle of self-sabotage.

************

About the author:

19274073Dr. Judy Ho, Ph. D., ABPP, ABPdN is triple board certified and licensed Clinical and Forensic Neuropsychologist, a tenured Associate Professor at Pepperdine University, and published author. Dr. Judy maintains a private practice in Manhattan Beach, CA where she specializes in comprehensive neuropsychological assessments and expert witness work. She regularly appears as an expert psychologist on television and other media, and is currently a co-host on CBS’s Face the Truth and author of Stop Self-Sabotage (available for pre-purchase now). She is a two-time recipient of the National Institute of Mental Health Services Research Award and hosts an active research program to improve mental health care for high-need populations.

Dr. Judy received her bachelor’s degrees in Psychology and Business Administration from UC Berkeley, and her masters and doctorate from SDSU/UCSD Joint Doctoral Program in Clinical Psychology. She completed a National Institute of Mental Health sponsored fellowship at UCLA’s Semel Institute.

Dr. Judy resides in Los Angeles, CA and enjoys snowboarding, writing music, singing, running, biking, cooking, playing video games, and dabbling in the art of flying trapeze during her time away from work. Her favorite pup is the Border Collie, and most memorable places to travel include Greece, Italy, and Sweden. She loves writing and can’t wait to begin her second book project (details coming soon).

You can follow Dr Judy on her blog Twitter Instagram Facebook YouTube

 

11 thoughts on “#BookSpotlight – Stop Self-Sabotage: Six Steps to Unlock Your True Motivation, Harness Your Willpower, and Get Out of Your Own Way by Dr. Judy Ho

Add yours

  1. Ohhh!! I AM IN DIRE NEED OF SOMETHING LIKE THIS BECAUSE..Self-sabotaging queeenn here!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

    Seriously though, great post, Nicki! ❤️💕 Thank you so much for sharing this one with us!’ 😍💕☔️

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Reads & Reels

Book & Movie Reviews, Author Services, & Other Book Related Delights

Chicks,Rogues and Scandals

We Love, We Live and We Read. . . .

A Little Book Problem

Tackling my TBR, one book at a time

Kitty Marie's Reading Corner

book blogger & reviewer

Captain's Quarters

Exploring sci-fi, fantasy, and young adult novels.

For Book Lovers and Random People

We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars. Oscar Wilde

Secret Library Book Blog

Books, Books, Books

BookerTalk

Adventures with great novels around the world

Andrea Michael Writes

Stories to make you feel good

%d bloggers like this: