A Dream of Italy blog tour

I’m absolutely thrilled to be hosting a stop on the blog tour for ‘A Dream of Italy’ by Nicky Pellegrino. Thanks to Tracy Fenton of Compulsive Readers for the invitation and to Orion for my copy of the book via NetGalley. Before I share my review here’s what the book is all about:

51LbMiEr7KL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_“For sale: historic building in the picturesque town of Montenello, southern Italy. Asking price: 1 Euro
Cloudless skies, sun-soaked countryside, delicious food… In the drowsy heat of an Italian summer, four strangers arrive in a beautiful town nestled in the mountains of Basilicata, dreaming of a new adventure. An innovative scheme by the town’s Mayor has given them the chance to buy a crumbling historic building for a single Euro – on the condition that they renovate their home within three years, and help to bring new life to the close-knit local community.

Elise is desperate to get on the property ladder. Edward wants to escape a life he feels suffocated by. Mimi is determined to start afresh after her divorce. And there’s one new arrival whose true motives are yet to be revealed… 
For each of them, Montenello offers a different promise of happiness. But can they turn their dream of Italy into reality? A deliciously escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.”

A Dream of Italy is published in paperback on 8th August by Orion

****************

My Review

Nicky Pellegrino is one my favourite authors, so I was over the moon when I got an invitation to join the blog tour!

This is a wonderful book that instantly transported me to Italy, and to the thought of buying my own house for one euro. I’ve seen the newspaper articles about this and I’ve wondered if I’d have the nerve to actually do it.

I liked all the characters in this book, but Salvio, Augusto, Donna Carmela, Elise and Edward were my absolute favourites. I loved the working relationship Salvio and Augusto had, and just like Salvio wondered what was bothering Augusto so much. I love Donna Carmela’s no nonsense attitude with her son and the house buyers who stayed at her holiday home. The food she cooked sounded delicious and so simple to cook! Elise was so sweet but definitely not a pushover in any way and Edward was delightful.

As always there were mouth watering descriptions of Italian food throughout the story making me want to reach into the book and eat it all.

I would love the author to write another book bringing more new people to Montenello and following up on these characters too. Please Nicky Pellegrino would you do that?🤞

I highly recommend this one, it’s perfect for the summer or later on in the winter months when you want a cheap winter break but can’t leave home!

*************

About the author:559840

When Nicky Pellegrino’s Italian father came to England he fell in love with and married a Liverpool girl. He brought to his new family his passion for food and instilled in them what all Italians know – that you live to eat instead of eating to live. This Italian mantra is the inspiration behind Nicky’s delicious novels. When Nicky met and married a New Zealander she moved to Auckland where she works as a journalist and edits a woman’s magazine.

You can following Nicky on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and through her website