#AudiobookReview – A Clerical Error by J. New #AClericalError #TantorMedia

L1833_ClericalError-238x238From Goodreads: “When the crime scene is pure coincidence and there’s no evidence, how do you prove it was murder?
Ella Bridges faces her most challenging investigation so far when the vicar dies suddenly at the May Day Fete. But with evidence scarce and her personal life unravelling in ways she could never have imagined, she misses vital clues in the investigation.
Working alongside Sergeant Baxter of Scotland Yard, will Ella manage to unearth the clues needed to catch the killer before another life is lost? Or will personal shock cloud her mind and result in another tragedy?
‘A Clerical Error’ is set in 1930’s England, and is the third of The Yellow Cottage Vintage Mystery series. ‘Miss Marple meets The Ghost Whisperer’ – Perfect For Fans of Golden Age Murder Mysteries, Cozy Mysteries, Clean Reads and British Amateur Sleuths”

My Review

What a super audiobook this was! I’m so glad I took a chance on this story, as I thoroughly enjoyed spending a few hours with Ella Bridges and Sergeant Baxter as they tried to solved this case. As usual I had loads of theories but no real suspects until right near the end, when the big reveal confirmed my suspicions.

I so enjoyed getting to know Ella, her aunt Margaret, Sergeant Baxter the policeman on loan from Scotland Yard and Phantom, Ella’s very unusal cat. I loved discovering more about all the characters and inhabitants of Linhay Island and could easily have carried on listening for a lot longer than the 5 hours of this audiobook. I actually think this would make a wonderful radio or TV series set during the 1930s as Ella Bridges makes a fabulous consulting detective, reminding me of a young Miss Marple.

Although this is the third book in the series I was able to pick up on what had happened in Ella’s life from the back story woven throughout this book. It was just enough to make me want to go back and discover the previous books. However if you are someone who likes to start at the beginning, I definitely recommend that you do, as there is a major spoiler in this particular story.

Jilly Bond’s narration was really lovely and absolutely perfect for this gentle mystery. This is the first time I’ve come across her voice talents and would definitely listen to more audiobooks narrated by her.

I definitely recommend this series if you enjoy cosy mysteries set in 1930s England.

Thanks so much to Hope Roy at Tantor Media for my digital copy.

 

11 thoughts on “#AudiobookReview – A Clerical Error by J. New #AClericalError #TantorMedia

Add yours

  1. Wonderful review Nicki. Not sure about this series as the timeline is not one of my favourites, but you never know. You made it sound really good and I do love a good cozy.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Tea & Cake For The Soul

Sharing recommendations for travel, art, books & recipes, alongside household, money saving & blogging tips, upcycling, eco issues & health features

All Creatures Great and Small

Saving our world through education and conservation.

Bargain Sleuth Book Reviews

Just a Wisconsin woman with a passion for books and bargains. As an affiliate with several websites, I earn from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you.

Nottingham Women's Centre: The Library Diaries

Learn about our library & archives, meet our team of volunteers, read about the wonderful books we have on our shelves and be part of the feminist library community.

Bowen's Book Publicity

Social media promotion for authors, and their books.

Reading with Jade

Books, Books, Books

My Wandering Books

More Books Please.

Hooked From Page One

Find your next crime fiction read here . . .

Mac Reviews Books

Book reviews for the masses!

Tessa Talks Books

No Spoiler Book Reviews & Recommendations for the Perfect Escape

Bookworm Blogger

Reading is a passport to countless adventures

The Blog

Surviving motherhood one book at a time!

%d bloggers like this: