#BookReview – The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton #BuddyRead #SevenDeaths #Amazing

35967101Goodreads blurb: “How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.”

My Review

Where do I start with this book? If you’ve already read it you know how hard it is to review. If you haven’t, you’ve probably read all the rave reviews and wondered if they’re true or just hyped up? They’re not hyped up, as this has got to be the cleverest mystery I’ve read and tried to work out. Tried is the word, as at one point I gave up and just enjoyed the story, but towards the end I still wanted to work it out but it was futile, there was no way I was going to get it right.

I loved exploring Blackheath and could easily picture it and it’s visitors in my head. I loved how I was introduced to the different characters and got to know them up close and personal. These ‘introductions’ really made the story come alive in a more intimate way than any mystery I’ve read before.

I read a review warning me to make notes, and so I had post-it notes sticking out of the pages of the book to help me work out what was going on. However, I soon realised that the only thing the notes were doing was stopping my brain from hurting as I tried to keep up with every blooming twist and turn the author inflicted on me, the reader! Forget the main character, I was the one suffering here!! Actually it was me and Yvo @It’s All About Books who were suffering as this was our third buddy read. We were messaging each other continually about what the heck was going on and what on earth was going to happen next. I’d love to know how the author wrote this and how he decided what happened to who, where and why.

To sum it up this was a brilliant book that I could not stop talking about to my husband, although not too much as I didn’t want to spoil it for him for when he reads it.

This is definitely going on my top reads for the year list, and one that I’ve already recommended to a friend, who’s thinking about it as her book club’s next choice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

43 thoughts on “#BookReview – The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton #BuddyRead #SevenDeaths #Amazing

  1. Ova says:

    Amazing review Nicki! I’d knew you’ll love this!
    The only thing I didn’t like was the way it ended. I wish more was explained, but hey, you can’t have it all, can you… the plot idea was brain puzzling and the book was sooooo cleverly written.

  2. noveldeelights says:

    It’d be really interesting to see how he kept track of everything. Imagine a post-it going missing or have them accidentally in the wrong order. 😂

    As you know already, I’m thrilled to bits you and Yvonne loved this one as much as I did and I’m glad all the hype didn’t put you off.

  3. Roachie's Reviews says:

    Fab review! I love reading other people’s reviews of TSDoEH because I hated it. I found it a slog and it came really close to being a DNF. I buddy read it with one of my friends and she didn’t finish it. I would love to know if there’s anyone else out there of it it’s just us! Haha. 🙂

  4. irena_bookdustmagic says:

    Now you got me intrigued. Brilliant review, and it seems like reading this novel and keeping up with everything going on in the story is pretty damn hard, but it is probably satisfying as well.

  5. bookwormbloggerweb says:

    This is on my list to read and the more review I read the higher up the list it goes. I love a good mystery but knowing that this one will keep me guessing had made it even more intriguing! ☺️

  6. Vicky says:

    Glad you liked it!! This has to be one of the cleverest books I’ve read in recent years; it’s like an ever-moving chessboard! Excuse me while I go read it again 😉

  7. Yvo says:

    Wonderful review! I had such a great time buddy reading it with you! Taking it slow made the story only that much better… Although we didn’t have a clue about the who and how haha.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.