#BookReview – Happily Never After by Emma Robinson #Blogtour #BlogBlitz @bookouture

I’m delighted to welcome you to my stop on the blog tour for Happily Never After by Emma Robinson. Thanks so much to Kim at Bookouture for the tour invite. Before I share my review let me tell you all about this fab book:

Happily-Never-After-Kindle cover“She closed her eyes. Think with your head. Your heart can’t be trusted. Life is not a fairytale…
Rory doesn’t believe in love. She’s got far too many real problems to deal with. 
She’s just bought a tumbledown house. Her mother is generally behaving like a wicked witch, insisting on calling her Aurora, and generally interfering in her (admittedly pitiful lack of) love life. And her 16-year-old daughter has finally grown out of Disney princesses and discovered dating…
But Rory’s adamant that she doesn’t need saving. In fact, the only thing she’s wishing on a star for is a bit of practical help. However, when she meets a builder whose name is John Prince and who seems to be in the habit of rescuing her (right down to finding her lost shoe one evening) she might have to face a truth as uncomfortable as hobbling home barefoot – that maybe there’s something enchanted in the air.Her mother, daughter and friends are convinced her prince has come, but Rory just wishes everyone could let it go. Especially when she hears a story that makes her question whether he is really the hero everyone thinks he is…A hilarious, romantic love story about mothers, daughters and how on earth to find Prince Charming, for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern.”

Books Links: AmazoniBookstoreKoboGooglePlay 

 

My Review

I really enjoyed reading this fabulous feel good book that made me smile, roll my eyes, cringe, laugh out and well up with tears.

Rory was a brilliant character, one that I could identify with in so many ways, the sort of person I’d love to be friends with. I loved that she was a kind, independent woman, who knew exactly what she wanted out of life, and wasn’t expecting anybody else to do it for her.

Rory’s Mum was lovely and so was Belle, Rory’s 16 year old daughter, although she did have her teenage moments. Reading about her made me quite relieved that I’m a Mum to a teenage boy not a teenage girl! I also liked  John Prince, the friendly builder, although I must admit I did wonder just like Rory if he was all he was cracked up to be.

I loved all the different strands of Rory’s life, teaching, renovating the house, parenting, keeping an eye on her Mum and supporting her friends.

I thoroughly recommend this if you’re looking for a ‘feel good’ book that will make you laugh out loud.

Thanks so much to NetGalley and Bookouture for my digital copy.

About the author: 

Emma photoEmma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.

She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

Website –  FacebookTwitter –  Instagram

Follow the blog blitz here

happily never after blog tour poster
Advertisements

10 thoughts on “#BookReview – Happily Never After by Emma Robinson #Blogtour #BlogBlitz @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.