Goodreads Monday, meme, To Be Read, Women's Fiction

Goodreads Monday

GoodreadsMonday

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners. To participate, choose a random book from your TBR and show it off! Don’t forget to link back to her page and link up to the inlinkz  so that others can see what you picked!

 

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Paperback, 422 pages
Published 2004 by Hodder & Stoughton

628033Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukaemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of pre-implantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged…until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister — and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

My Sister’s Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child’s life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

 

I read my first book by Jodi Picoult last year, Small Great Things and realise that I’ve been missing out of some great books by her. This title keeps cropping up and this morning I found a second hand copy totally by chance for £1. 🙂

 

So have you read this and will I need tissues?

16 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday”

  1. I have read a few Picoult books in the past (Small Great Things hands down my favorite), but this one is still on my TBR pile! I’ve heard it’s a good one though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh great choice! And yes you will need many many tissues.

    I was positive I was already following your blog but I had to hit it again today to re-follow. Touchy buttons. Oh well glad I’m following you again.

    I can’t wait to see what you think of this book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

