20 Books of Summer, historical fiction, memoir, Mysteries & Thrillers, To Be Read, WWII

20 Books of Summer

20-books

Hosted by Cathy@746books The 20 Books of Summer is a reading challenge from 1 June to 3 September encouraging you to read up to 20 books from your TBR . Cathy herself admits that the rules are very slack and not to worry if you don’t manage to make it. Sounds like the perfect challenge fo me as someone who fails regularly at any reading challenge, apart from the Goodreads one where I don’t have to read specific books!

Anyone is welcome to join in the challenge – just pick your 20 books (or 15, or 10) to read over the summer and write a post about them. Then sign up to the page on 746 Books on 1st June! The challenge will run from 1st June to 3rd September 2017. You can share your lists and your progress on twitter using #20BooksofSummer

Here’s my list in no particular order:

Magic Sometimes Happens by Margaret James

21473662

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He Said She Said by Erin Kelly

32939533

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Watership Down by Richard Adams

16644104

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Making of Us by Lisa Jewell

screenshot-www.wfhowes.co.uk 2017-05-26 14-54-52

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nutshell by Ian McEwan

29752912

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I See You by Clare Mackintosh

28005522

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

28951781

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Butterfly on a Storm by Walter Lucius

29776974

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

22948207

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Lighterman by Simon Michael

415DlL-Jq9L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

32613366

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Mask of Shadows by Oscar de Muriel

9781405926225

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Smile in One Eye by Ralph Webster

33897969

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

51KyHLzuqmL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White Gold by Rachel Amphlett

32303089

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Girl in Red Velvet by Margaret James

517OXGZG7IL._SY346_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think of my list?

35 thoughts on “20 Books of Summer”

  1. It’s going to be a good summer for reading I think! I’m hearing amazing things about HeSaid/SheSaid and I’d love to read that one as well. I’ve got I See You on my readlist as well so I’ll try to read that one this summer. 20 is impossible but I should be able to achieve one ;-). I’m also interested in A Man Called Ove and The Hate U Give.. they seem to be epic books and real must-reads so I look forward to your opinion. Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A great list! I have been meaning to read Watership Down for years but have never got round to it. I took part in this challenge last year with ten books and didn’t manage it 😦 I’m deliberating taking part again and had better get my skates on if I am! Look forward to hearing your thoughts on the books you have chosen.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thanks souch for taking part Nicki! I’m mad at myself now, because Watership Down is the book tbat has been on my TBR the longest (35 years – yes really!) and I swore I would read it this summer, but promptly forgot to add it to my list!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Nice mix of new releases with some older books in there. It’s decades since I read Watership Down (when it came out in fact!) and I remember very little about it now except that I loved it and it made me sob buckets… enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You have some books on your list I’d love to read! I’ve only read one myself, A Man Called Ove, and it was superb. Great for summer too I think. I can’t wait to see your posts through the summer. I only committed to ten myself, but one of them is Gone With the Wind 😬😬😬 Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hallo, Hallo – travelling through the linky for #20BooksOfSummer whilst sharing the JOY of being able to join the challenge myself! I was wicked thankful the rules are lax as I’m using this challenge to become re-inspired to read books I’ve been itching to read for the past few years – most of which are on my book blogger’s backlogue! 😦 Yikes! However, despite the circumstances which took me away from them – it’s just lovely I can interact with others who have their own reasons for reading the books they are this Summer!
    First thing I cheered on your list is #ChartonMinster – I didn’t include my next two novels in this series on my List as I’m reading them this JULY. I’ve fallen head over heels for the series – such a compelling saga by Ms James – I’m reading books 4 & 5 as I’m awaiting No6 to go into print (hopefully in 2018!). If you’ve been reading the series through you might enjoy the notes I’ve left on the Cover Reveal for No6 ‘Girl in Red Velvet’ as I always blog why I want to read a book if I’m revealling it’s cover art. Also you’re welcome to visit me and chatter about the series overall – as I’ve loved blogging my ruminative thoughts each time I finish reading one of the installments!
    * Cover: Girl in Red Velvet post w/ notes
    Also – LOVED Nina George’s “The Little Paris Bookshop” – I won’t add more links in my comment as I notice spam filters eat my comments if I add too many links; pls just search for my review — as I spoke highly on this story’s behalf. I’ll definitely be looking for your own notes to see if we felt the same about parts of the story! πŸ™‚ Must admit, as I received her next novel via LT ER programme I was not as captured by “The Little French Bistro” as I had been with this original story.
    Cheers to your Summer Reads!!
    * Likewise, I have my #20BooksOfSummer sticky linked on my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

