Tags

, , ,

35068993

Blurb From Goodreads

 

“Hope Harbor police chief Lexie Graham has plenty on her plate raising her son alone and dealing with a sudden rash of petty theft and vandalism in her coastal Oregon home town. As a result, she has zero time for extracurricular activities–including romance.

 

Ex-con Adam Stone isn’t looking for love either–but how ironic is it that the first woman to catch his eye is a police chief? Yet wishing for things that can never be is foolish.

Nevertheless, when Lexie enlists Adam’s help to keep a young man from falling into a life of crime, sparks begin to fly. And as they work together, it soon becomes apparent that God may have a different–and better–future planned for them than either could imagine.”

My Thoughts

This started off quite well for me and I was hoping for an uplifting listen. I liked the story with the theme of second chances which was running through it and I loved all the parts with Clyde the dog. I really enjoyed the brilliant narration by Therese Plummer,Β  as she brought all the characters, male and female, young and old to life.

Unfortunately though I gave up about a third of they way through when the inner dialogue for both main characters were just too repetitive to keep listening. If this had been in a different format, I would’ve skimmed those parts, but I ended up muttering ‘enough’ to both Lexi and Adam whenever they kept talking to themselves about why they shouldn’t be getting serious with each other.

I also found the Christian message was a bit too preachy for me and spoilt the story.

I’m sure if you enjoy romances with a strong Christian message you’d enjoy this. Unfortunately this audiobook just wasn’t for me at this time.

Thanks so much to christianaudio.com Reviewer’s Program for my free copy.

