meme, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Instant Bookish Turn Offs

toptentuesday

This weekly meme is brought to you byΒ The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

 

 

 

1 Naked Men on Front Covers

I don’t see the attraction at all so a big turn off.

2 Fantasy

I don’t read fantasy except for the Narnia books, so anything in this genre gets a thumbs down.

3 Shortlisted for Book Prizes

These are normally literary fiction which I don’t enjoy so no chance I’ll pick them up.

4 Cartoon Cover

Anything with a cartoon cover that isn’t a comic or graphic novel is a big no no for me.

5 Couples Kissing on The Cover

Like the naked men this is another big turn off

6 Novels Written by Celebrities

I’ve tried a few over the years and haven’t liked many, so I’d rather read a memoir by a famous person than their latest novel.

7 Hyped Up Books

I’ve been caught out with these so many times that I just don’t bother any more.

8 Children

Anything to do with childhood abuse I can’t even look at, so I’m very likely to give a book with a child on the front cover a very wide berth.

9 Vampires

No thanks never seen the attraction with Twilight or anthing vampire related

10 Classics

I’ve tried over the years to read classic literature but I still don’t like it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Instant Bookish Turn Offs”

  1. Agree with all but 3 and 10 – there are some pleasant surprises in 3, and I like a good Jane Austen, for example – though I’m not a fan of Dickens πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Haha no. 1 and 5. are big ones for me. I also tend to put off reading hyped books a while longer than others. Although, some manage to grab my attention πŸ˜‰ I laughed about the vampires bit because I am a huge Anne Rice fan and also review Let The Right One In today. Also huge fan of fantasy. Different strokes πŸ˜‰ Fun post ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought that I did not like fantasy as well. Since you don’t read books with too much hype you probably wont ever do game of thrones. I really enjoyed those, I have not seen the show. I also enjoy the Conan the Barbarian stories, phillup pullman, Lovecraft, Dunsany and many others. I am right there with you about hyped up books except sometimes they really are just good. To each their own though, it is good to have a firm idea of what you and don’t like. My friends are always trying to force me to read things I just have no interest in. That can be hard lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope he will find joy in knowing I read all of these in college for a fantasy literature course! Without which I never would have gotten my toes wet lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

