Tags

, , ,

33012552

Night Market is the brilliant sequel to Daniel Pembrey’s The Harbour Master, the police detective series set the Netherlands capital city of Amsterdam. It ties up beautifully all the loose ends that left were police detective Henk Van Der Pol up in the air. In Night Market he’s asked by the Justice Minister to go undercover and join a team investigating an internet child exploitation network. Of course nothing is quite as it’s seems for Henk and he needs to tread very carefully as he’s still under the control of important government figures in The Hague.

As with The Harbour Master there was so many twists and turns to this story with Henk getting deeper and deeper into situations he didn’t even know were linked together.

I really enjoyed getting reacquainted with Henk and his wife Petra in this book and of course revisiting Amsterdam and The Netherlands. I must admit I was rather concerned about the storyline involving the online child exploitation network, but this was written very sensitively so there were nothing at all to worry about.

Once again the characters felt very real and the pace kept my attention throughout. Many times I found myself shaking my head and gasping as the plot gathered speed and took another unexpected turn.

I definitely recommend this if you enjoy detective stories with lots of twists and turns.

Thanks so much to Real Readers and No Exit Press for my complimentary paperback copy, which really did add to my reading experience.

Night Market by Daniel Pembrey will be published by No Exit Press on 27 April 2017.

