Tags

,

  31848394
“An extraordinary story  of love and hope from the best selling, Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Reluctant Fundamentalist.

In a city swollen by refugees but still mostly at peace, or at least not yet openly at war, Saeed and Nadia share a cup of coffee, and their story begins. It will be a love story but also a story about war and a world in crisis, about how we live now and how we might live tomorrow.

Before too long, the time will come for Nadia and Saeed to leave their homeland. When the streets are no longer usable and all options are exhausted, this young couple will join the great outpouring of those fleeing a collapsing city, hoping against hope, looking for their place in the world.”

 

goodreads-badge-add-button

I must admit I had higher hopes for this book after thoroughly enjoying the Reluctant Fundamentalist.  I enjoyed the magic realism elements to the story with the use of ‘doors’ to other countries, but the writing style didn’t engage me as much as I wanted it to and the characters felt too distant for me to get to know them properly.

This hasn’t put me off other books by the author though and I do recommend this if you like Literary fiction.

Thanks so much to NetGalley and Penguin Books (UK) Hamish Hamilton for my advanced digital copy.

