Tags

, , ,

“Enter the world of One Folgate Street and discover perfection . . . but can you pay the price?

33369538

Jane stumbles on the rental opportunity of a lifetime: the chance to live in a beautiful ultra-minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of exacting rules.

After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there – and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before.

As twist after twist catches the reader off guard, Emma’s past and Jane’s present become inexorably entwined in this tense, page-turning portrayal of psychological obsession.”

 

 

I was lucky enough to receive a hardback copy of this from Quercus after reading the sample on NetGalley, which really did add to my reading experience.

This was a real page turner that I read in 24 hours. I was hooked right from the first page with the two narrators keeping me gripped throughout. The minimalist house was a very interesting concept and not one I would take on unless absolutely desperate. Jane and Emma were desperate women needing a new start in their lives but from completely different circumstances.

The tension was there right from the start, building up as the plot took me through all it’s twists and turns. There were some shocking short sex scenes that made me feel uncomfortable and question what the point was, but it wasn’t so much that I felt like I had to stop reading.

A definite recommendation if you enjoy thrillers with lots of twists and turns. I even think this would make a good book club read as there are some good themes throughout.

The Girl Before is published today 26 January by Quercus.

 

 

