Mysteries & Thrillers

Gripping!

Undertow a debut novel by Elizabeth Heathcote. It’s a pacey psychological thriller 31822367set between London and Norfolk in the UK. 

Carmen, the main character, is a former journalist and happily married to Tom, a successful London lawyer, divorcee with three children. The spend their time between London where he works and Norfolk where they have a holiday cottage for seeing Tom’s children some weekends. But, there’s another woman hanging over their short marriage and it’s not Laura Tom’s ex wife. Shortly before Carmen married Tom he’d had an affair with Zena a stunning woman who drowned swimming late one night on the Norfolk coast. Carmen becomes obsessed with Zena and and her death, thinking that Tom may have murdered her.

Well this one really took me by surprise. It started off quite slowly and nothing special, but then bam all the psychological stuff started happening. It hooked me and I just had to find out what happened. There were lots of twists and turns and I didn’t guess the ending even though I thought I knew earlier in the book.

The psychological drama was gripping and made me shake my head and mutter as Carmen was delving deeper and deeper into her husband’s things. The main characters were believable, but not particularly people I would want to spend time with.

I’d definitely read something else by the author and will be on the look out for her next book.

Thanks to NetGalley and Quercus for the digital copy.

Leave a Reply

