Tags

,

My first challenge since starting this blog a couple of weeks ago and what a fun one it is!

These are the books that I’m willing to sacrifice in order to survive several extreme scenes involving zombies, glacier ice age etc.

1. An Over-Hyped Book

Situation: You’re in a shop when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked would you start chucking at the zombies? 

I would ha865ve absolutely no hesitation in chucking huge piles of The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. As soon as the word destiny was mentioned it turned me off completely as it made me feel like I was watching a very cheesey Disney movie. I would have enjoyed this more if it had been just a story for story’s sake and not giving me the feeling that there was a hidden message in there. 

2. A Sequel

Situation: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as a6379668n umbrella to protect yourself?

I don’t tend to read books in a series so this was a bit difficult. I’ve finally remembered though that I was so disappointed in the final book in the Little House Series, The Four Years by Laura Ingalls Wilder. This was such a sombre read compared to the delightful stories of her childhood.

3. A Classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

This was hard for me to choose just one book as I really don’t enjoy reading classics I but much prefer to see a good BBC version instead. I know I’ll probably have lots of book bloggers hating me but I’m sorry I can’t lie!! 6086646

So I’m going to go for Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray which when I attempted to read it a couple of years I thought was a lot of pretentious nonsense.

4. A Least Favourite Book

Situation: Apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. You

9780760703328

r only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

If I’m going to be freezing I’m obviously going to need a huge book that will take ages to burn down and so keep me warm for a few hours. My choice has got to be The Complete Works of Shakespeare, another instance where I would much prefer to watch, rather than read the plays and sonnets.

Thank you Inge The Belgian Reviewer for this fun challenge and for Jill at her blog Rant And Rave About Books for the Book Sacrifice Tag.

Would anyone else like to join in or just comment on my choices?

