Tags

, ,

I received an advanced29391645 copy of this book from Netgalley and Hodder & Stoughton in exchange for an honest review.

Ruth Jefferson is a highly experienced and professional midwife who loves her job and her patients. Unfortunately one couple (white supremacists) do not want her anywhere near them and their new-born, because of she is black. When the baby stops breathing on her shift she has to decided whether her duty is more important than her personal feelings.

Wow absolutely I loved this, my first book by Jodi Picoult. I was hooked straight away and felt I was part of story all the way through, so much so that I was talking about it as if it was real life. The author has taken a controversial subject and woven a true to life story through it. I loved Ruth and her son Edison, liked Kennedy and her family but despised Turk and Brittany. I found it really hard to read their part of the story, but made myself for the sake of the plot. All the characters felt very real and so did the situations they found themselves in. The plot told from Ruth, Kennedy and Turk’s perspectives kept me reading and had a very surprising twist at the end.

I’d definitely recommend this to my family and friends and it’s a perfect read for book clubs.

This maybe my first book by Jodi Picoult, but it’s definitely not my last.

